Looking Forward to the Present

Time is such an odd thing to me.

Over the summer, I was involved with a ten-week leadership development/mission trip project with Resonate, called Elevate. Fifty-eight students and fourteen leaders moved down to La Jolla, California for two and a half months, living, working, and just doing life together.

It was an incredible experience that I wish everyone could have, and many hours were devoted to envisioning what Elevate would be like during the cold winter months, when spending my summer down in San Diego seemed more like a dream than reality.

One of my posts on Instagram: a screenshot of the weather in San Diego while Pullman was suffering from subzero temperatures. You could say I was excited to fly down there.

One of my posts on Instagram: a screenshot of the weather in San Diego while Pullman was suffering from subzero temperatures. You could say I was excited to fly down there.

I remember sitting in class with one of my best friends, TJ, and looking at pictures of the hotel instead of listening to the professor (who cares about business law, anyway?).

I remember talking with Brittany about how exciting a California adventure seemed as we drove to the grocery store, the car acting as a metal barrier separating us from the seven degree weather outside.

Most of all, I remember touching down at the San Diego airport:

“Lord,” I prayed, “in ten weeks I’ll be looking at this same exact view of the airport, but I’ll be heading in the opposite direction. I pray that by that time, I’m not even close to the same person I am now.”

Elevate was a character-shifting period, and my prayer was clearly answered.

Over the winter and spring months, I projected forward into the future to imagine what the summer might hold for me. Now, that future is my past.

Of course, all this is obvious — it’s just the way life works.

But, it’s interesting to be aware of time. It brings a certain appreciation to your present. It makes a moment so much sweeter when you can remember looking forward to it for so long.

Currently, I’m helping plant a church in Ellensburg, Washington on the campus of Central Washington University. It’s so easy to take this time for granted, and it’s helpful to remember all the times that I talked, prayed, and casted vision with people for the very moments that I’m living in right now.

The first "Resonate CWU" interest meeting. The beginning of the movement.

The first “Resonate CWU” interest meeting. The beginning of a movement.

The launch service, the first week of villages, meeting people who will eventually become some of our closest friends — these are all moments that we looked forward to as we prepared to move out here, and these are things that should overjoy us, not things that we should just view as yet another step in the evolution of the church.

As we move forward, please be praying that my team and I would all have a full appreciation for each moment as we come across it.

Until next time — grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

